Daily Archives: October 10, 2010

5 miles, long and slow.

First off: Happy Birthday Steph!

Today was a 5 mile long run; I elected not to step up after the accidental 5 miles last week, and to just stick with 0.5 mile increases for the remaining weeks until 7 miles (yikes) on November 7th.

Turned out that was probably a good idea, because today was rough between heat and a lack of the right nutrition. Last Sunday it was cooler, and I had food and water around mile 4. I didn’t think it had made that much of an impact, until I tried to run today without a stop for food or water in 75+ degrees. 5 miles is quite manageable, but at my speed I was out more than an hour, so the lack of food took it’s toll. Also, I had not eaten as well the day before. Too much protein, not enough carbs.

Even with all that over-analysis, I managed the whole thing in right about the same time as last week. 1:09:48, 13:58 pace. The beginning was stiffer and creakier than I’d like, but I got through it. Powering through that still left me pretty drained, but I ran the whole way.

Steph and I started talking about some kind of nutrition, gu or gel or something for these long weekend runs. Water will be more complicated, because I really don’t want to haul a bottle, but I will if I have to. Swem said he’d give me some advice on nutrition when he comes around this weekend, so maybe he’ll have some insights.

Around mile 4, when I was missing that clif bar and water fountain pretty bad, I told myself that I was excited. That I was happy. That I had been looking forward to this long run all week, and it was almost over and I should be grateful that I was still on it, because when it was over it was back to work, back to a different, more complex, less elemental struggle. I didn’t quite convince myself, but I got close enough that I may convince myself next time. And it really did feel good, when it was over.

Another run bites the dust.