Dropped Back

This was a drop back week.

I wasn’t planned to run much and I ran less than I planned. The last gasps of winter made me reconsider my run on Thursday night. It’s rare that I’d let weather beat me, but this week, just once, I did, in order to get the full ‘rest’ out of it.

As a result, I feel more tired than if I’d run the full week. More tired than if I had run intervals that night, and 10 miles today.

I ended last week with a race. A 10k, because this year is a year for distance running. I haven’t run a 10k since 2011, and so my PR was woefully out of date, so Sunday’s 51:15 was a PR by almost 9 minutes.

But that’s all there was this week. Bare facts. Stripped down basics. No poetics.

2 responses to “Dropped Back

  1. Isn’t funny how when you actually take a break, you feel more tired than if you were running?

    Congrats on the massive PR. Probably made you good to see how far you’ve come.

  2. Woot! Congrats on the PR! That is a lot of minutes off the last one, amazing progress.

    Ya, not running is exhausting 😉 I have not run since Monday morning since I am attempting a 22+ tomorrow and I am so tired.

Leave a comment