Round and round

Last night was the first tempo run in more than 3 months. It seems weird when I put it that way, because I’ve made such efforts to keep running through winter, but there is running, and then there is RUNNING.

A tempo run of 3 miles at 8:22 is RUNNING. I headed out in the darkness after stopping by the gym for a valentines kiss from Stephanie. I ran a mile warmup, trying to psyche myself up for that run, without spilling over and burning too much valuable energy on the warmup.

By the time I reached my mile loop I felt ready, and in fact burned through the first mile at an 8 minute pace, faster than intended. That rush ‘out of the gate’ combined with me trying to eat dinner to fuel for the run meant that the next two were progressively slower. 8:20 and 8:37. My stomach hurt and my energy was at a low ebb by the time that final mile ended.

Not too slow, and I think on average my pace comes out about right, but the objective wasn’t quite achieved. I finished and had to slow to a walk, something I haven’t done in so long that I can’t recall the last time.

That said, the run felt good, and opening the door on my race training was a good enough result. I know that my next tempo run wi be better, and the next will be better than that.

2 months 12 days 12 hours until the Glass City Half.

Leave a Reply

