Onederful.

Under_200_Collage

I did it.

Thursday morning I weighed in at 198.4 pounds. The first time, since perhaps my teens, that I’ve had a leading 1 on the scale. And it has stayed there, for 3 days. So it’s not just dehydration or a fluke. I’m actually under 200lbs.

Whether my height is 6’3″ or 6’4″ (I’m somewhere between) this also, coincidentally, marks the point where I drop under 25.0 BMI. Putting me in the normal range.

When I started this journey, in early 2010, I was 285lbs. My body fat was an estimated 30%, now down to about 17%. My BMI was a whopping 35.6, well into the obese range.

I haven’t talked very much about weight loss here, partially because I don’t know what to say about it. I have no secrets; my method was to run until I liked running, to train for race after race to keep my motivation up, to consciously say no to food, and to weigh myself daily to keep both those positive inputs at the right level. I hit plateaus, most recently at around 205 where I’ve been for a couple of months. I never hung my success on losing weight, especially when I hit a plateau. I kept doing what I was doing, and called more running, or faster paces, success.

I dreaded getting on the scale after a vacation or a weekend trip, knowing the spike that would come. Some mornings, I woke up feeling heavy, only to get on the scale to be rewarded with a drop I hadn’t expected. Sometimes that morning weigh in would be the only way to convince myself I didn’t need another snack before dinner, or a second glass of IPA. For some reason my mind viciously resists counting calories, but deals well with the daily feedback of a weight. Most days, it doesn’t weigh on my mind. (I will admit that each day since that first 19x.x photo, I did dread the next day.)

This isn’t a declaration of victory. I am not done with fitness, I know I never really can be, unless I want to go back to where I was. Instead, this is a celebration of what I have accomplished. I couldn’t have done this without all of you. The motivation and support from my friends (old and new) and family was as much a part of this process as the miles on the road.

Where am I going from here? Nowhere, really. 199 wasn’t a ‘target’. Nothing is going to change. I’m going to keep eating right, keep weighing in daily, and keep training for my next half marathon.

I wanted to get this milestone published. To celebrate how far I’ve come. Please forgive the scatterbrained writing and the childish collage.

3 responses to “Onederful.

  1. Way to go! You’re on a great lifetime journey. I like the creative title “Onederful.” 🙂

  2. Congrats, Donald, you are an inspiration to me, I know I have told you before but I super mean it…I am so lucky to also be able to read about your incredible success and continued journey. Thank you and celebrate!

Leave a Reply

