Half Marathon Training

My half marathon training has begun; in fact, I’m coming up on the close of week 4. But when I started with week 1, it wasn’t a very momentous start. Week 1 of my plan was way easier than the ‘maintenance running’ I had been doing to get through the winter. Week 2 and 3 were not much more intense, more of an evolution than a big change.

But all that was over, last night.

Thursday is the designated speedwork day in this plan, and while my first three speed work days (two tempo runs of 3 miles @ 8:47 and one instance of 2xMile repeats at 8:32) felt that “good speed” feeling, last night I did a *4* mile tempo @ 9:02. But because of my wife’s new Muay Thai schedule, I did it on a treadmill.

The unforgiving, unadjusting, brutal speed of the treadmill, combined with the warm air of the gym, plus the really high new effort (4 consecutive miles faster than the mile pace in my 5k PR….) was a new mountain to climb. I made it, but after 60 minutes on the treadmill I was glad to get off, not out of boredom or eagerness to get home, but out of a real and honest desire to stop and catch my breath.

It’s an amazing feeling, to push yourself. I look forward to more of this in the coming weeks.

On a way sadder note, after a 4 mile easy run last Friday at the office, I apparently misplaced my trusted Garmin Forerunner 305. Fortunately I had a Garmin 210 I had found at REI’s ‘garage sale’ for a backup, but I lost a week of workout data, and am really bummed about the absence of what I’d grown used to. Still, rather than running out and buying a new hotness, I’m taking a borrowed/handmedown 305 from Sherry (hi mom-in-law!) which will fill the gap.

I just can’t bring myself to be excited about it, because there are so many other fun new options out there, but I’d like to be practical and mindful of the money I spend on running. And the shoes I’m wearing just hit 300 miles…

3 responses to “Half Marathon Training

  1. Oh no! Sorry to hear about your Garmin. What a bummer.

    I think that 4 mile tempo run on the treadmill is exactly why I like to run. It is such a great feeling when I compete a run that is just beyond my comfort zone.

  2. Sorry you lost the garmin. 😦 Aounds like your training is still going well though. Good work!

  3. Bummer about the Garmin! I admire your practicality though.

    I have made peace with the treadmill this winter. I just couldn’t bring myself to get out of bed into the icey dark cold of 5:30am, but somehow, knowing that I’d be in a moderately temp. controlled gym, I could manage to crawl out of bed and out 4 blocks to the gym. I also have come to enjoy that the treadmil can force you to keep your pace. I am sure there were many tempo runs where I thought I was hoofin’ it but it wasn’t really true! Not to mention the cushy bounce of it and the fact that I can change right away afterwards. But, alas, nothing is worse than gym farts.

    Pittsburgh half sounds real tempting now that I got one behind me~!

Leave a Reply

