What is this… fun run… you speak of?

I ran my first 5k at the Detroit Zoo last year, and since then, running has given me a lot, this year, including a whole new perspective things.

A friend invited me to run a 5k jingle bell fun run. I signed up, and discovered it was a fund raiser for the Arthritis Foundation. I’ve never done much at all with charity, or fundraising for causes, and to be honest, I didn’t expect that to change when I started running. But because it’s such a common fundraising vehicle, and because I’ve begun to realize the open-hearted nature of my friends and family, I am now seeing these fundraising runs (which, a fun run almost always is a fundraising run) as a real opportunity to make a difference in the world.

Jingle Bell 5k Logo

Forgive me if this is clumsy, but as I mentioned, I’m new at this. I’ve set a modest goal of $200 raised for the Arthritis Foundation. I hope that some of my friends & readers can find it in their hearts to donate, for three reasons.

  1. Arthritis is a disease that affects nearly 1 in 5 adults. It almost certainly affects someone you love.
  2. Arthritis denies people the lives they want to lead. If you have a healthy body, and are grateful for it, spare $10 for those who don’t.
  3. If I get to $200 (and I’m already halfway there) I’ll run the race in a Santa hat.

You don’t need to give much. Even 10 of you giving just $10 each would guarantee I end up running this thing in a Santa hat. Donate Now!

If the Santa Hat isn’t enough inducement, let me know in the comments what you think I should do if I get even more donations. And remember, this is for a good cause!

Leave a Reply

