Listening to my body is all well and good…

… but why won’t my body listen to me?

A week ago, I ran my weekly 5k with my coworkers, and in a rush to keep myself on time, and supported by perfect weather, I ran my fastest 5k ever. And my fastest 5 miles ever. Including my fastest mile ever, at a 9:08 pace. 

Wow.  I was blown away. But I immediately promised myself to be more attentive to my body signs, to slow down and to do these runs as the training runs they’re meant to be, and not to toss caution to the wind as soon as my body feels a groove.

That worked for all of 5 days, and then, this past Wednesday, I ran the weekly 5k in 28:20, a 9:08 pace. You know, the pace of my fastest mile ever just 5 days prior. I felt fantastic that day; it was cool and still and I only had 3 miles to run, and my whole body felt good. So, though I set out with a sedate 10:40 pace in mind, I ended up letting myself off the leash, again. 5k in 28:20; I can hardly wait to get myself into a 5k race this summer and get something like that on my record books.

Check out the comparison of last weeks 5k to this weeks 5k:

Pace, Red - This Week, Blue - Last week

And the heartrate:

Heartrate

My heart rate wasn’t blowing up, but it was definitely increasing throughout, which means this isn’t a pace that I can maintain (which is, I think, how you’re supposed to run a 5k). On the other hand, an 11 minute pace dials me in at a relatively responsible heart rate in the low 150’s, and just plain stays there (I’ll talk about that a little in my 11 mile summary post). Once the half is over and I can spend some time on pursuing and refining those speed & HR relationships, I think I’m going to do some work to really establish HR zones for myself, document them and lock them in, and train with them.

And once again, I didn’t pay for it immediately, so my body starts to think I am invulnerable. I know I’m not, so I’d like my body to listen to me, and maintain the pace I ask, so that it doesn’t have to find out the hard way.

19 days to the Pittsburgh Half marathon.

Leave a Reply

