I am going to get a tattoo…

…that says “Eat a Goddamned Banana Before Running”

A mile and a half into every run where I don’t have enough potassium, I feel like a jaguar mauled my calves.

4 responses to “I am going to get a tattoo…

  1. Don,
    Bananas are a great source of potassium, and an even better one is coconut. However, the coconut milk, juice, etc that you see more of these days is pricy, mostly in the trendy boutique whole-foods places.
    If I don’t have 2 or 3 bananas a week, I start getting horrible foot cramps.
    A must have!

    Janet and I continue to enjoy your posts. It inspires us to KEEP RUNNING, INSPITE OF THE SEASON.

    Paul

    • Coconut, eh? I don’t suppose a few shavings on the top of a cupcake counts…? 😉

      I’ll have to check if I can stomach coconut water, I think Steph has a cache someplace!

      Running through December wasn’t so bad, now it’s the real test… January and February! Thanks for all the encouragement.

  2. Discover ENDUROLYTES…take one/two before every run and one/two every 45 minutes. Your body is telling you you are lacking electrolytes!!!!!! I use them all the time. http://www.hammernutrition.com/products/endurolytes.elt.html

    from the web site…. BENEFITS

    Cramping is your body’s final warning signal that you’re on empty electrolyte wise. However, your performance is deteriorating and you are slowing down long before you feel the slightest twinge of a cramp. To keep your body’s muscular, digestive, nervous, and cardiac systems firing on all cylinders you need a consistent supply of all electrolytic minerals, not just sodium and potassium. Plus, in many instances, you require greater volumes of electrolytes than any sports drink or gel can provide. That is why Endurolytes fulfills such a crucial component of your fueling by supplying your body with a perfectly balanced, full-spectrum, rapidly assimilated electrolyte source, allowing you to meet your widely variable electrolyte needs with tremendous precision, hour after hour, no matter what the weather throws at you.

    Extra Benefits:
    Taking two or more Endurolytes before bed may help prevent night cramps and nighttime muscle twitching.

    I hope this helps!!

    Sherry

  3. Pingback: Getting Ready | Wisely and Slow

Leave a Reply

