I Ran.

When I finish running, Steph always asks me how I feel. My response, and something I generally say a few more times during the day, is usually “I Ran.” Simple and declarative. I’m proud of myself when I say it.

After my harsh 3 mile run on Saturday, I had to really push myself to get out the door for 6 miles Sunday, but, as always, I was glad I did. You can see the run in the RSS feed on the sidebar, but it was a really good one. I ran into Belleville, with some light flurries coming down. I ran all the way across town and across the bridge that crosses Belleville lake. Touched a light pole there at the 3 mile mark, and turned around. (If you zoom in around the corner of 5th and main, you can even see me detour into a gas station for a bottle of powerade! The accuracy of this thing amazes me.)

My second half of the run, fueled by the powerade and mostly warmer because I was ‘settled in’ to my run was pretty amazing. I averaged a 12:18 pace for this run, which is just about what I ran in my 10k. I’m sure that means I have more speed in me somewhere, but I think I’m going to have to wait till the Spring to find that out.

Speaking of goals, I think I’m going to stick with the responsible weekly mileage until the winter starts to turn the corner next year, and then pick a half marathon to work toward. 15 miles per week is my current goal. Last week was a success, with a little over 15 miles logged on my gps. Let’s see what this week brings. One way or another, I get to say it.

I ran.

Leave a Reply

